The history of Luchiano goes back to ancient times. There is evidence that in Roman times a villa or large farm existed in the place of the current podere. In the Middle Ages there was a sanctuary for Santa Firmina, which ruins were still visible at the beginning of the last century. Probably this sanctuary was located in the place where the land of the saint was, maybe even her home. In an act of 1160, the place is called Agulianus, a name that would later turn into Luchiano.
From Franciscan monastery to podere
Perhaps the memory of Santa Firmina was the reason for Franciscan monks to found a small monastery in the 16th century. The monastery was eventually abandoned. At the beginning of the 19th century the surviving remains of the complex became a new destination and in 1821 podere Luchiano was born. From here a wealthy landowner ruled over his lands and his tenants, who threshed their grain each year on the still existing and for Umbria unique threshing floor -the aia- and held a big harvest festival afterwards to celebrate.
But also this farm disappeared and Luchiano again fell into disrepair. Until Francesco Forniz, a winemaker himself, bought the ruins in 1993 and restored the building to its former glory, but with all modern conveniences. Through his intervention Luchiano is again the robust, classic 19th century Umbrian farmhouse with six acres of land, on which mainly olive trees grow, but where also walnuts and grapes each year bear their fruits.
The small company is combined with a charming holiday house, comprising of three spacious apartments with lots of privacy. Luchiano is now runned by daughter Francesca Forniz, how exchanged her work as a translator English/German for the stewardship of the beautiful estate.